Holy

Standard

A few days ago the kids and I were headed to my parent’s house to spend a few nights. I had the radio loud so we could all jam out and I came across a song I’d never heard before and my eyes instantly swelled with tears. All I could remember was

Bride and Groom. Wedding day. Oh death where is your sting. I hurriedly texted Jon with the few lyrics I could remember as soon as I hit the driveway to their house. The next week I kept flipping stations to see if I could find it again. Finally, on Monday I googled the few lyrics I remembered and I found it! I texted Jon The name of the group, the song, and how much I loved this song in hopes that he’d listen to it and love it just as much as I do 🙂

I hopped in the car last night for an emergency run to Walmart and as the radio turned on I heard a familiar song…

This is the story of the Son of God
Hanging on the cross for me
But it ends with a bride and groom
And a wedding by a glassy sea
O death where is your sting
Cause I’ll be there singing
Holy Holy Holy
Is the Lord

That sweet man that’s been by my side the last 5.5 years bought this cd, popped it into my cd player, and made sure it would start as soon as the car started  Seriously, I was overwhelmed by his thoughtfulness and these song lyrics and all that they have come to mean to me. In a time in my life where everything seems so out of whack this song has meant so much to me. Please listen to the song…so beautiful!! Click here> http://youtu.be/hyMRglSxF0E I’m pretty sure you won’t be disappointed.

Dad started his radiation last Friday for the lesions in his brain and he’s tolerating it very well! He has lost some sensation of taste which is frustrating, but we were there to see him really taste Spaghetti and meatballs and a hearty burger from steak and shake…yay! Right now he’s battling some type of cold so please be praying he gets over it quickly! Anyhow, when I first heard this song it instantly brought me to tears…why? Because for the past several years I’d been praying for my Dad to know Christ fully and even though it took cancer to bring him to this point I’m able to rejoice knowing Dad knows Christ. It’s been such a sweet blessing to hear Dad and his excitement to help out at trunk or treat and all the other activities his church is involved in. He’s a brand new man with a whole new plan. He’s a part of the body of Christ and it is just a beautiful thing! The lyrics of this song show us how Christ died for us, and how the church is His bride. And even though there is pain and sorrow, life will end in triumph! Oh, death where is your sting….it gets me Every. Single. Time! Because really, at the end of this life, what we have ahead of us is SO gloriously beautiful. And at the end of our lives both Dad and I will be singing “Holy, Holy, Holy, is the Lord.”

This is the story of a bride in white
Waiting on her wedding day
Anticipation welling up inside
While the groom is crowned as king
O death where is your sting
Cause we’ll be there singing
Holy Holy Holy is the Lord

I can remember so vividly my wedding day, the nervous excitement, clammy hands, butterflies going crazy in my stomach…and it’s the same feeling I feel when I think about the day our little boy will be placed in our arms. To know Christ has brought us to this moment, to this boy, and these circumstances. I find myself asking Him “why” all the time, but I find comfort in knowing He’s had this planned all along (Is 55:8-9). So we wait with great anticipation that one day he will be placed in our arms and it will be beautiful and full of praise to our King.
Holy, Holy, Is the Lord Almighty. Who was and is and is to come

I’m so thankful that Christ has invited me in to be a part of His family. These days that seem so hard, are made easier when I come to my King and lay it all at His feet. And in the midst of so many uncertainties, I can cling to the One who holds the end of the story.
The Lord is near the brokenhearted; He saves those crushed in spirit. Psalm 34:18

Leave a Reply

